Ad

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Author Spotlight with Sarah Ashley Jones


~*~ABOUT THE AUTHOR~*~
I'm Sarah! I'm a total goofball. This is pretty much the most important thing to know about me. Just kidding! I may be an adult but I have the heart of a child. I know when to be serious but I'm a hard worker with serious control issues, and maybe a splash of wit and a side of sassy. I'm addicted to Coca-Cola, obsessed with cupcakes, and also a Chapstick hoarder. 

When I'm not writing, I'm probably rounding up my crazy clan of four dogs or adventuring around town with my husband who encourages me to embrace me inner outdoors woman by fishing, camping, canoeing, and hiking. 

I'm a huge nerd, so please feel free to send me a friends request, email, or leave a comment. I will jump for joy any time of of those things happen. I am blessed beyond belief with all the love and support I have received this past year and I thank all of you for that!

---

~*~BOOK LIST~*~

---

~*~SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS~*~

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

{Excerpt/Giveaway} "Bound" By Melody Anne

Title: Bound
Series: Forbidden Series #1
Author: Melody Anne
Publication Date: August 25, 2014
22617817

Summary: 
Relinquish Control has just opened its doors in Seattle, and already we are not shy for customers. Relinquish Control is an exclusive escort service catering to the most distinguished customers, from business magnates to foreign royalty. This proven and well-established international business offers an elite selection of women who are ready and willing to attend to your every need with no questions asked. Confidentiality is our special obligation.

Jewell Weston is homeless and desperate at age twenty-four. Two years ago, she quit her job to care for her ailing mother and her young brother; the medical bills incurred because of the cancer that killed her mother two months ago took everything the family had, and the state then took away her brother, now age fourteen. The only way for her to get the boy back is by finding a job and securing a home.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don't Own Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there will be a new topic for everyone to create a top ten list with. 

This Weeks Topic:
Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don't Own Yet


10. "Blood Magic" By Tessa Gratton
9. "We Were Liars" By E. Lockhart
8. "Levitating Las Vegas" By Jennifer Echols
7. "Coraline" By Neil Gaiman
6. "She Smells the Dead" By E.J. Stevens
5. "The One" By Kiera Cass
4. "Don't Look Back" By Jennifer L. Armentrout
3. "Unmade" By Sarah Rees Brennan
2. "Half-Blood" By Jennifer L. Armentrout
1. "Random" By Tom Leveen

BBReview: "Night Huntress 1: Halfway to the Grave" By Jeaniene Frost

Genre: Adult: Paranormal/Romance
Publishing Date: October 30th, 2007
Page Count: 358
Source: Local Library
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
Flirting with the Grave...

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father - the one responsible for ruining her mother's life. Then she's captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She's amazed she doesn't end up as his dinner - are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn't have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Bout of Books R-A-T Wrap up Post

Bout of Books

So I didn't accomplish all of my goals for the week, but I am still pretty proud of the progress I made.

My goal was to read 6 books, but I only read 2 full ones and started another one. I ended up reading 661 pages and I'm pretty proud of that. I would have probably read 3 full books, but the one I started wasn't that great and I had to put it in the DNF category.

I did have a goal of reading everyday for at least an hour and I'm pretty sure I did accomplish that and that it was more like at least 2 hours a day.

I did not make my goal of commenting on other peoples goals/update posts, BUT I did participate in a twitter chat for the first time in YEARS and I am SOOOOO happy! It was so much fun and now I know what I have been missing and will definitely try my hardest in the future to be in at least one every time there is a bout of books RAT.

Overall, not all my goals were met, but I am still very proud of my progress =D

How did you do?

BBReview: "Fever 1: Darkfever" By Karen Marie Moning

Genre: Adult: Paranormal/Fantasy
Publishing Date: August 28th, 2007
Page Count: 349
Source: Local Library
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.

When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….

As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands….

Sunday, August 24, 2014

{Giveaway} BBReview: "Lux Series 5: Opposition" By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Young Adult: Paranormal/Science Fiction/Fantasy/Romance
Publishing Date: August 5th, 2014
Page Count: 534
Source: Bought from B&N
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can't believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.

Bout of Books Sunday's Challenge

Bout of Books

Challenges:
5-Book Challenge: Post Apocalyptic Edition from Falling Down the Book Hole

My 5 books would be...


 As for the "why" it's kind of simple. All of these books are pleasure books and are my favorite's. If I am going to be in a post apocalyptic world, I don't want to read books to make me feel more depressed or to remind me of the world I am living in. I want to escape and these are my escape books. All of these are books that I could re-read over and over again and I wouldn't get tired of it. They are my favorites from my favorite authors and I think I would be set. I've got 3 paranormal books (my favorite genre of all time), 1 classic, and 1 contemporary to mix things up.
If you haven't tried any of these I am SHOCKED! And order you to immediately. If you don't like 'em I'll understand (well not understand, but I'll deal), but at least try 'em. 

Bout of Books R-A-T Saturday's Updates & Challenges

Bout of Books

Updates:
Saturday
Number of Books Read Today: 1
Number of Pages Read Today: 102
Total Number of Books I've Read: 3
Total Number of Pages I've Read: 595
Books: {Continued} "Succubus on Top" By Richelle Mead

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Bout of Books R-A-T Friday's Updates & Challenges

Bout of Books

Updates:
Friday
Number of Books Read Today: 1
Number of Pages Read Today: 45
Total Number of Books I've Read: 3
Total Number of Pages I've Read: 493
Books: {Continued} "Succubus on Top" By Richelle Mead

Challenges: