Thursday, April 17, 2014

Throwback Thursday: BEA Edition

In celebration of BEA coming up I am going to start doing Throwback Thursday posts every week, but I am going to add a little twist to it. I am going to do a BEA edition of TT and showcase photos from past BEA adventures. 

This weeks picture:

This is my mom and I on our way to our first trip to NYC and our first BEA. We just entered the Lincoln Tunnel when we took this. 
Now, BEA is our annual mother/daughter trip. I cannot wait to go again this year with her. 

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Preparing for BEA: What to Pack


If you are planning to go to BEA for the first time it is very hard to know what exactly you should pack. I know that my first time I brought so much stuff that I didn't need and I packed clothes that were way too formal. 
So, whether this is your first or hundredth time going to BEA here are my tips for what to pack...


Clothes:
You are obviously going to need clothes. My mistake when I went to BEA for the first time was that I packed only dress clothes. This is a professional conference, but you are going to be there ALL. DAY. LONG. and you are going to be standing in lines and running around. You need to be comfortable. My suggestion is to pack jeans, shorts, and nice tops. Book related shirts are the best. 
You want to be comfortable, but still classy and presentable since you are going to be networking your butt off. I suggest comfy chic. 
After the conference is over for the day you are also going to want to check out NYC and it is so much better when you don't have change into something else. It also leaves extra space in your luggage when you don't pack two pairs of clothes for everyday. 

Shoes:
You are going to be on your feet all day, so you need comfortable shoes. My first time I, again, made the mistake of being too formal and packed flats. My feet hurt sooo bad by the end of the day. You really need to have comfortable tennis shoes or sandals. You will be the most comfortable. 

Laptop:
You might not have a whole lot of time to blog while you are there, but you never know when some inspiration happens in the middle of the night where you might want to blog at the hotel. They offer wifi, so you might as well take advantage of it. 
I also use my laptop to double check my schedule for the day, follow bloggers after each day of the conference, check out books I heard about from other book lovers, and to take notes of what I want to blog about when I get home. 
If anything you should at least bring a tablet with you. 

Extra Luggage:
Now, I'm not talking about bring whole suit cases, but you might want to at least bring a duffle bag or two. You are going to be bringing home a LOT of books and you are going to need to put them in something to get them home. If you are taking a train or plane home you might want to look into mailing them home, which they offer on site at the conference, but if you are like me and you are driving you are going to need bags to put these books in or they will be all over your car. 
Also there is a luggage check-in on site so you can put the books you get in your luggage instead of trying to haul it all back to the hotel. 

Chargers:
Make sure that you are packing all of your chargers from phones to laptops. You are going to need them. You are also going to be gone from your hotel for most of the day so it is honestly best to invest in a portable charger for your phone. There are ones that you charge at night and then use later, solar powered, and battery powered. I suggest the battery powered ones, because they are cheaper and you can continuously get a charge out of them if you have batteries, but I also suggest you leave the batteries out of the device while you aren't charging your phone, because it will kill the batteries if left in.

Business Cards:
Since you are going to be networking so much it is seriously MANDATORY to have business cards. Every blogger has one and everyone is going to ask to exchange business cards with you. You can also leave your business cards with authors that you know you are going to write a review for and also with publishing houses to contact you about review books. 
I personally use Vistaprint for mine and you can get 250 cards for $10. You need to order them right away, though, to get them in time. 

Business Card Portfolio:
Since you are going to be exchanging so many cards with people you really need a place to put them. I suggest a business card portfolio that you can get basically anywhere. This keeps them safe and organized for you to go back to later to follow bloggers and contact publishers. 

Small, Cross Body Purse:
My mistake my first time going to BEA was that my mom and I brought a back pack full of stuff with us. You are going to get so many bags while at BEA that it is pointless to bring another one with you. My suggestion is to just bring a small, cross body purse that can hold your schedule, your phone, and some money. It's all you're going to need. 

Light Jacket:
You might get cold on the way to the conference and might get chilly while at the conference, so I suggest a light jacket, sweater, or hoodie. You are going to work up sweat from all the running around and walking you are going to be doing so make sure you don't pack anything heavy. It will just weigh you down to carry it everywhere. 

Money:
While at the conference you definitely need money. You are going to want to buy lunch, give donations for the books you get, and buy book related things. After the conference you are going to want to check out the city, buy souvenirs, and buy dinner. Make sure you are bringing money and budgeting lol. 

DON'T BRING BOOKS: 
Whatever you do, do not bring books with you. You might think you will have tons of time to read, but you won't. You are going to be at the conference all day and by the time you get to the hotel you are just going to want to eat and sleep. Don't bring books with you. They will only take up space and weigh your stuff down. 


Those are my suggestions for what you need to pack for BEA. I am sure there are other things that I am forgetting, but these are the essentials. 
I hope you enjoyed this list and I hope to see you at BEA!

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Top 5 Reasons You Should Attend BEA: #1

Reason #1: FREE BOOKS!!

What kind of book blogger or book lover would I be if I didn't mention the number one reason to attend BEA as getting free books? A terrible one I think.
Your #1 excuse for ever attending BEA should be to get free books. You will come home with hundreds if you want to and from every genre.
All types of books are represented at this conference and you will get your hands on so many.
My first year attending BEA my eyes were bigger than my bags and I grabbed every book I could get my hand on plus standing in lines to get some autographed. I came home with 300 books that year.
Now I come home with about 100 and those are all books that I am personally interested in and not just books that were within reach. Each book I grab either sounds good, looks good, or I know someone in my family would love.
Plus I also keep you guys in mind for giveaways.
It may sound awful, but the number #1 reason to attend BEA is getting free books. I'm not saying it's the most important reason, I am just saying that if you are trying to justify this trip to yourself or your family then the number one reason that is going to convince you or them is the free books.

If this countdown reflected important to attend BEA it would probably be the exact opposite order it is in now lol.

Thank you to everyone who checked out my countdown this week. I had a lot of fun writing it!
Make sure to continually check into the blog, because from now till May 27th the blog will be all things BEA, with some reviews mixed in as well.
Make sure to definitely look out for my big BEA GIVEAWAY!! That will be coming your way very soon =D

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Top 5 Reasons You Should Attend BEA: #2

Reason #2: Networking with Companies

I mentioned a good chunk of this in my 4th reason you should attend BEA.
The best place to go to get yourself or your blog ahead in the game is BEA, because there are so many opportunities to network.
There will be a booth for almost every publishing house you can think of and it is so important to go to them to not just get free books, but to talk to the people running them.
Ask if they have a book drop schedule, ask if they send bloggers books for review, ask if they have any internships or job opportunities. Network your butt off!
The more people you know the better your chances are of getting to work in the book industry. You need to start building your knowledge bank and this is the perfect opportunity. The people working the booths are there to answer more questions than "when is Jennifer L Armentrout signing?".
Take advantage of being in their presence. It is a little intimidating at first, but once you break the ice it goes great. You will be so thankful that you did it. And, if you get too nervous to ask a question, channel your inner me and just do it. OR come find me and I will help you through it lol

This week I am going to be sharing my top 5 reasons you should attend Book Expo America. 
Each day I will be doing a countdown from reason #5 to reason #1. 
Make sure to continue to check out the daily countdown to the #1 reason to attend BEA.

Friday, April 11, 2014

Top 5 Reasons You Should Attend BEA: #3

Reason #3: Making Friends

BEA is such a perfect place to meet friends. You would think that since this is such a huge expo that there would be too many people there to try and make connections and there wouldn't even be time to try and meet friends, but there is so much time!
The first place to meet friends is at the book blogger conference. This is a conference only for book bloggers and is about everything that is book blog related. Here is the place you will meet a bunch of people with a common interest with you. They all love books, they all have blogs.
Now, sure they love books and they have a blog, but they won't all necessarily love the same books as you or blog about the same things you do. This is where the book lines come in.
There are a CRAP ton of books and authors at this event, and its hectic because you are running from author to author at certain times, but once you get to that authors line all you are going to do is just sit and wait for a very long time.
This is the time when people start to talk. You guys are now lovers of the same author! This is where I meet my closest friends, because then we have more in common than being book lovers and blogger, but we also like the same author. You will exchange business cards and will see each other all through the conference. You will do things for each other like hold spots while the other goes to find book drops for you both and will talk about all the other things book related that you want to gossip about.
I actually met two bloggers from Michigan (my home state) while in line and now we talk all the time and place to meet up at BEA every year.
It seriously is the best place to meet book friends. They are the best!

This week I am going to be sharing my top 5 reasons you should attend Book Expo America. 
Each day I will be doing a countdown from reason #5 to reason #1. 
Make sure to continue to check out the daily countdown to the #1 reason to attend BEA.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Top 5 Reasons You Should Attend BEA: #4

Reason #4: Learning the Trade

The next reason on my countdown to attend BEA is that you get the opportunity to learn more about the book trade. You get to see everything in action at this expo. You get to really see everything that goes on to make people attracted to your company or book and everything it takes to get it in a consumers hand.
You will also learn about the trends in the industry. You will figure out what hot new trends are going to be coming out this year, what people are writing about, and what to expect in the future. You can even take a guess as to what moves you should take to be ahead of the game when the time comes.
If you are at all interested in working in the book industry you can use this conference to learn about the trade you want to get into.
There are also possible job opportunities. You get to network with a lot of publishing houses and the people who are in charge of hiring interns and getting bloggers sent their books. If you are networking and making sure to meet this people you can create a lot of connections for your blog to review books for publishing houses and you can even land an internship.
Last year at BEA I happened to be by the Spencer Hill Press booth and they asked if I wanted to sign up to possibly get an internship from home. I said sure, and now I have been with them for about 8 months. I absolutely love my internship and I wouldn't have got it if I didn't attend BEA.
So, if you want to learn anything at all about the industry or want to get yourself or your blog ahead, attend BEA!

This week I am going to be sharing my top 5 reasons you should attend Book Expo America. 
Each day I will be doing a countdown from reason #5 to reason #1. 
Make sure to continue to check out the daily countdown to the #1 reason to attend BEA.

Monday, April 7, 2014

Top 5 Reasons You Should Attend BEA: #5

Reason #5: The trip

If anything, the reason you should attend BEA is for the trip. The expo is held in New York City and in a couple years it will be held in Chicago. If anything you should go to BEA to have an excuse to take a trip to a big city and explore it. 
BEA is an annual vacation for my mom and I. We look forward to it every year and when we go we completely take advantage of being in NYC. We go sight seeing, eat great food and explore downtown. Going to BEA isn't just for the actual event itself, but it presents a time where you can explore a big city and do things that you might not normally get the opportunity to do. 
My mom and I haven't figured out just yet what we are going to be doing during this trip to BEA, but I am sure that we are going to do some very fun things. 
So far we have the following things in mind: hanging out at central park, going to the NYC library, maybe do some Law & Order: SVU sight seeing, and finally checking out a club. 

This week I am going to be sharing my top 5 reasons you should attend Book Expo America. 
Each day I will be doing a countdown from reason #5 to reason #1. 
Make sure to continue to check out the daily countdown to the #1 reason to attend BEA.

Saturday, March 29, 2014

I'M GOING TO BEA!!!

I am so super duper excited to announce that I am going to BEA again!!

This will be my third time going to BEA and I absolutely love it! You meet so many amazing people there and can network your butt off. Last year at BEA is how I got my reading internship for Spencer Hill Press. And you cannot forget about meeting all the amazing authors, talking with them and getting their autograph, and the FREE BOOKS! 

This is a trip me and mom take every year now. We drive the 10 hour drive from Michigan to New York and love every second of it. It's a mother/daughter trip now and I am so happy I get to spend this time with my mom again. 

As most of you know it is this time of year when some fun things start happening on the blog (such as being more active since the semester is over and doing more giveaways), but to be more BEA related here is what you should be looking forward to...

Monday, March 24, 2014

{Book Blast} Shelly Crane's Devoured Series

I am so excited to be a part of this book blast for Shelly Crane! I think she is an amazing author and I really hope that more and more of you become lovers of her work. Today is an awesome day for Shelly, because she is not only revealing the cover of Altered (book 3), but she is revealing the new covers for the first two books in the series as well. 
In addition to that Devour (book 1) is on sale for $0.99 so definitely make sure to buy your copy today while the sale lasts! 
AND 
there are giveaways all around the blog-o-sphere for a copy of one of the books in the series so make sure to follow Shelly HERE to hear about some of those giveaways that other blogger's are hosting. 
Now, without further ado, here are the new beautiful covers!!

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Secret Announcement from K.A. Tucker!!!

Fans of K.A. Tucker's Ten Tiny Breaths, we have a SUPER exciting announcement: On September 1, 2014, Atria is releasing a PREQUEL NOVELLA to Ten Tiny Breaths that tells the story from Trent's point of view! It's called IN HER WAKE, and we cannot wait one more breath to read it!

---

In Her Wake
  About IN HER WAKE: 
  Cole Reynolds had it all. And then one night he makes a bad choice... and loses everything. When a drunken night out at a Michigan State college party results in the death of six people, Cole must come to terms with his part in the tragedy. Normally, he'd be able to lean on his best friends. The best friends that have been in his life since he could barely walk. Only, they're gone. Worse, there's the shattered body of a sixteen-year-old girl lying somewhere in a hospital bed, her entire life ripped from her because of a case of beer and a set of keys. Everyone assures him that they know it wasn't intentional and yet he can't ignore the weight of their gazes, the whispers behind his back. The all-consuming guilt he feels every time he thinks of that girl who won't so much as allow him near her hospital room to apologize. As the months go by and the shame and loneliness festers, Cole begins to lose his grip of what once was important-college, his girlfriend, his future. His life. It's not until Cole hits rock-bottom that he can begin to see another way out of his personal hell: forgiveness. And there's only one person who can give that to him... 

Pre-Order Links: Amazon | iTunes | Simon & Schuster

  Are you as excited about this as we are?? And...this is going to be available at the great price of $.99!!

---

Four Secondsto Lose
And while you're at it, pre-order the gorgeous paperback of FOUR SECONDS TO LOSE, hitting bookstores on 4/1!

About FOUR SECONDS TO LOSE: Owning a strip club isn’t the fantasy most guys expect it to be. With long hours, a staff with enough issues to keep a psych ward in business, and the police regularly on his case, twenty-nine year old Cain is starting to second guess his unspoken mission to save the women he employs. And then blond, brown-eyed Charlie Rourke walks through his door, and things get really complicated. Cain abides by a strict “no sleeping with the staff” rule. But being around Charlie challenges Cain’s self-control…and it’s been a long time since any woman has done that. Twenty-two-year old Charlie Rourke needs a lot of money, really fast, in order to vanish before it’s too late. Taking her clothes off for men makes her stomach curl but Charlie tells herself that at least she’s putting her acting anddancing skills to good use. And though her fellow dancers seem eager to nab their sexy, sophisticated, and genuinely caring boss, she’s not interested. After all, Charlie Rourke doesn’t really exist—and the girl pretending to be her doesn’t need to complicate her life with romance. Unfortunately, Charlie soon discovers that developing feelings for Cain is inevitable, that those feelings may not be unrequited—but losing him when he finds out what she’s involved with will be more painful than any other sentence awaiting her. 

---

About K.A. Tucker:
Author Photo
Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.