Ad

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

BBReview: "Precinct 13" By Tate Hallaway

Genre: Adult - Paranormal
Publishing Date: August 7th, 2012
Page Count: 308
Source: Borrowed from local library
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
Recent college grad Alex Conner is thrilled to have landed a job as the Hughes County coroner/medical examiner in Pierre, South Dakota. But when her first day on the job ends with a missing corpse, Alex starts to wonder if she would have been better off collecting unemployment...

When the cops made some cryptic comments about being careful with the body they brought in, Alex just thought the boys in blue were messing with her. That is, until something freaky happens that no amount of med school could have prepared her for. By the time Alex gets herself together, the body has disappeared and the other residents of the morgue start talking her ear off.

After working up the courage to report the missing body, Alex is transferred to the mysterious Precinct 13 where she discovers that her new co-workers—including a cute technomage named Jack—are paranormals just like her. Now, Alex is being encouraged to use her ability to speak to the dead to solve crimes. And despite being in the middle of nowhere, Hughes County sure does have a lot of paranormal activity…

Monday, September 1, 2014

{New Release} "In Her Wake" By K.A. Tucker

IHW RDL Banner   
I  am SO stoked to bring you all the Release Day Launch for K.A. Tucker's IN HER WAKE! IN HER WAKE is a new adult contemporary romance and a prequel novella in the Ten Tiny Breaths Series, published by Atria Press (an imprint of Simon & Schuster).

  In Her Wake

Purchase Links:

Sunday, August 31, 2014

The Sunday Post ~ Thirty Second Edition

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. The Sunday Post is a new meme where you can post about the new books you got this past week (books I was asked to bite), or recap what has been happening the past week on your blog (bites you may have missed), or a sneak peek for what is to come (what you can look forward to biting into), or even a final recap of your week in general (one last parting bite). 
Books I was asked to bite and books I decided to bite this week: 

Friday, August 29, 2014

{Teaser} "Relinquish" By Amy Thompson

Relinquish
  Genre: New Adult Paranormal Fantasy
Book Two in the Lost Souls Series

RELINQUISH(1)[2]

Synopsis:
Regan has a life in Georgia. She is going to school, has managed to make some friends, and has even found a new love interest in Colter. So what happens when she can’t hide what she is anymore? When do all the lies become too much to handle? And how much longer can she hold onto her sanity—while Agro pushes her closer and closer to the edge of no return—her ascension to Elite?

Colter is beautifully oblivious. Wanting so much to believe that Regan is safe, and Agro has been halted, he ignores Finn’s constant skepticism at the risk of their friendship. Overlooking what is so clearly right in front of him, Colter passes off Regan’s outbursts of emotion on her recent trauma. Colter can feel Regan—his one exception to his retribution—slipping out of his arms, but fighting her to stay with him may not be an option.

Colter and Finn are now at odds, and there is a newly formed alliance between Kaiden and Exile Max. Will this group of Collectors be enough to fight off the new enemies and old threats that emerge in the battle for souls when Regan is broken, and their group is on the brink of self-destruction?

The lost will be found, the Collectors will be exiled, and the Elites will reign.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Author Spotlight with Sarah Ashley Jones


~*~ABOUT THE AUTHOR~*~
I'm Sarah! I'm a total goofball. This is pretty much the most important thing to know about me. Just kidding! I may be an adult but I have the heart of a child. I know when to be serious but I'm a hard worker with serious control issues, and maybe a splash of wit and a side of sassy. I'm addicted to Coca-Cola, obsessed with cupcakes, and also a Chapstick hoarder. 

When I'm not writing, I'm probably rounding up my crazy clan of four dogs or adventuring around town with my husband who encourages me to embrace me inner outdoors woman by fishing, camping, canoeing, and hiking. 

I'm a huge nerd, so please feel free to send me a friends request, email, or leave a comment. I will jump for joy any time of of those things happen. I am blessed beyond belief with all the love and support I have received this past year and I thank all of you for that!

---

~*~BOOK LIST~*~

---

~*~SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS~*~

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

{Excerpt/Giveaway} "Bound" By Melody Anne

Title: Bound
Series: Forbidden Series #1
Author: Melody Anne
Publication Date: August 25, 2014
22617817

Summary: 
Relinquish Control has just opened its doors in Seattle, and already we are not shy for customers. Relinquish Control is an exclusive escort service catering to the most distinguished customers, from business magnates to foreign royalty. This proven and well-established international business offers an elite selection of women who are ready and willing to attend to your every need with no questions asked. Confidentiality is our special obligation.

Jewell Weston is homeless and desperate at age twenty-four. Two years ago, she quit her job to care for her ailing mother and her young brother; the medical bills incurred because of the cancer that killed her mother two months ago took everything the family had, and the state then took away her brother, now age fourteen. The only way for her to get the boy back is by finding a job and securing a home.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don't Own Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there will be a new topic for everyone to create a top ten list with. 

This Weeks Topic:
Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don't Own Yet


10. "Blood Magic" By Tessa Gratton
9. "We Were Liars" By E. Lockhart
8. "Levitating Las Vegas" By Jennifer Echols
7. "Coraline" By Neil Gaiman
6. "She Smells the Dead" By E.J. Stevens
5. "The One" By Kiera Cass
4. "Don't Look Back" By Jennifer L. Armentrout
3. "Unmade" By Sarah Rees Brennan
2. "Half-Blood" By Jennifer L. Armentrout
1. "Random" By Tom Leveen

BBReview: "Night Huntress 1: Halfway to the Grave" By Jeaniene Frost

Genre: Adult: Paranormal/Romance
Publishing Date: October 30th, 2007
Page Count: 358
Source: Local Library
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
Flirting with the Grave...

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father - the one responsible for ruining her mother's life. Then she's captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She's amazed she doesn't end up as his dinner - are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn't have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Bout of Books R-A-T Wrap up Post

Bout of Books

So I didn't accomplish all of my goals for the week, but I am still pretty proud of the progress I made.

My goal was to read 6 books, but I only read 2 full ones and started another one. I ended up reading 661 pages and I'm pretty proud of that. I would have probably read 3 full books, but the one I started wasn't that great and I had to put it in the DNF category.

I did have a goal of reading everyday for at least an hour and I'm pretty sure I did accomplish that and that it was more like at least 2 hours a day.

I did not make my goal of commenting on other peoples goals/update posts, BUT I did participate in a twitter chat for the first time in YEARS and I am SOOOOO happy! It was so much fun and now I know what I have been missing and will definitely try my hardest in the future to be in at least one every time there is a bout of books RAT.

Overall, not all my goals were met, but I am still very proud of my progress =D

How did you do?

BBReview: "Fever 1: Darkfever" By Karen Marie Moning

Genre: Adult: Paranormal/Fantasy
Publishing Date: August 28th, 2007
Page Count: 349
Source: Local Library
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.

When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….

As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands….