Ad

Monday, September 15, 2014

{Cover Reveal} "Wicked" By Jennifer L. Armentrout

OMG! I am so so so so SO excited to bring you the Cover Reveal for Jennifer L. Armentrout's WICKED! WICKED is a New Adult Paranormal Romance and is a part of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Wicked Trilogy. It is being released on December 8th, 2014. So make sure you pre-order it today!!

I have a very good feeling that this will be my new favorite series from Jennifer and I am counting down the days to the release!

Without further ado, check out this amazing cover...

Saturday, September 13, 2014

{Excerpt/Giveaway} "The Accidental Kiss" By Nicole Simone


Today I am very excited to bring you an excerpt from Nicole Simone's The Accidental Kiss. I absolutely love excerpts, because they always convince me if a book is for me or not. Hopefully this excerpt will make you want to go out and get the book as much as it made me want to. So, without further ado, Enjoy!

Synopsis:
They were like fire and ice.

But he was everything she didn't know she needed.

Marked by tragedy, Sky Noel leaves Los Angeles with her mom to start anew in Castor, a small town in Louisiana. It was supposed to be Sky’s chance to have a normal life but she soon finds out normal isn't written in her DNA.

When a mysterious boy named Daemon shakes up Sky’s fragile hold on reality, she is thrust into a world where zombies and voodoo not only exist in the pages of a novel. They are hidden in the darkest corners where danger lurks and death awaits. With a price on her head, Sky has to put her trust in the boy with the ocean blue eyes but is Daemon everything she was warned against and more?

Tricked into selling his soul, Daemon lives out his existence at the mercy of the voodoo priest. That is until one fateful night when his path is forever changed.

Desperate to atone for his sins, Daemon brings it upon himself to protect Sky at any cost. However, a secret hidden in his past could rip away the very person who makes him feel human again.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

DNF Short's

DNF Shorts is where I give short reviews on books that I just couldn't bring myself to finish reading. These are in no way to bash the books or their authors, but to just give my short opinion on them. If any of the books I include in my DNF Shorts are books you are interested in reading PLEASE continue to still buy/rent/borrow them and form your own opinions.

---

Summary:
Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth - that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil, no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Goodreads
Short Review:
I really, really wanted to get into this book. I promise. I have met Julie multiple times while attended BEA throughout the years and I absolutely love her and her personality. I could definitely hear her in her writing, which was fantastic, but I just could not get on board with the subject matter. I have never been a fan of the fae, especially the seelie court, but I know how much everyone loves this series and wanted to give it a shot. I just could not grasp the subject enough to continue on reading it. Part of it definitely has to do with the fact that there are changelings in this story and I have NEVER been a fan of them, because I don't understand why they do what they do. As soon as I found out changelings were involved I was pretty checked out, but I did continue on for 2 more chapters to give it the benefit of the doubt. I was hooked in the beginning, when it starts as kind of a contemporary, but once the fae got involved I had to stop. I wish Julie would write some YA contemps, because I would be all over it. I love her writing style so much so I will definitely try her other books and hopefully one of those will grab me. I was also pretty excited since I know there is a romance in here, but I just couldn't read long enough to find it. So sad!

---


Summary:
Citrus Leahy is having a really bad day. First she's late to school. Then she runs into the girl who drives her nuts because she always calls her Orange instead of her name. To cap it all off, when Citrus finally makes it to class, she sees herself already inside. Wait. What? Citrus Leahy has a doppelganger! It's probably aliens taking over the world and her life has just turned totally upside down. Goodbye, normal. Hello, paranormal! Luckily, her crush Aedan has the exact same problem!




Short Review:
I couldn't really get into the book and I think that is because I really didn't get enough time before shit hits the fan to get to know our MC. We are thrown right into the action, which is fine, but I just wasn't emotionally invested enough to care about what happens to Citrus. She is a very shy, quiet girl who likes to stick to herself so she isn't easy to get to know quickly. I did really like that she mentions she is late to school because she stayed up late to finish reading The Hunger Games and that Catching Fire was burning a hole through her backpack (good pun). It helped me get to know her a little better and see that we have something in common, but it wasn't enough to keep me invested for the long hall. I also felt like the writing was a little bit too young for me. I think this would have read better for someone who is actually in high school themselves, but to me the MC's voice was just a little too young and immature. I also really didn't like that it was told in first person because everything was told as it was happening in the past tense. It kind of drove me a little nuts. Overall I definitely think there are people out there who would  really like this book, but it just wasn't for me. 

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

{Guest Post} "A Long 4 Years" By Dela

A long 4 years…

Something most people asked me when I told them I wrote a book is “How’d you have time for that?” The answer was always “I didn’t.” I had to sacrifice one thing for another. Funny, my book is about sacrifices.

When I started writing THE 52ND in January 2011, I not only didn’t know that it would take me this long to finish it, but also didn’t know that the story was going to be about sacrifices. In fact, I didn’t even have a plot. I only knew my characters, Zara and Lucas.

How’d I come up with the plot? Research.

The very first draft started with Zara in a dream. Little did I know that this was the number one ‘no-no’ in a writer’s world. It was rough. So I scratched that, but kept the idea of Lucas knowing who Zara was and her not knowing who he was a part of the story. While I didn’t have much more than that, I knew the book was going to be about the Aztecs and Mayans. This prompted me to research—okay, made me research—especially when my Mexican grandmother (my first beta reader) kept telling me my historical accounts were wrong. Our conversations were very interesting back then. But that’s a story of its own.

So essentially, I guess you could say my ideas for this novel seeded with research and grew with many details that I loved: the architecture, the shamans, spirituality, ancient traditions, legends, the stars, mythical creatures, gods & goddesses, and more. The ones that made me squirm in my seat and squint my eyes I couldn’t leave out of the story either: blood, ripped bodies, sacrifices, extracting beating hearts, and an entire Underworld.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

BBReview: "Georgina Kincaid 2: Succubus on Top" By Richelle Mead

Genre: Adult - Paranormal
Publishing Date: January 1st, 2008
Page Count: 314
Source: Borrowed from library
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
Love hurts, and no one knows it better than Georgina Kincaid. If she so much as kisses Seth Mortensen, the shy, sexy writer she's been dating, she'll drain his life force. Admittedly, the shape shifting and immortality perks of a succubus are terrific, but it's completely unfair that a she-demon whose purpose is seduction can't get down with the one mortal who accepts her for who she is. . .
It's not just her personal life that's in chaos. Doug, Georgina's co-worker at a local bookstore, has been exhibiting bizarre behavior, and Georgina suspects something far more demonic than double espressos. She could use an assist from Bastien, an irresistibly charming incubus and her best immortal friend, but he's giving Georgina some highly distracting come-hither vibes. Georgina is going to have to work solo on this one--and fast, because soon, Doug's life won't be the only one on the line. . .

Monday, September 8, 2014

{New Release} "Torn" By Laney McMann

TORN, the second installment of the Fire Born Novels by Laney McMann, has launched. PLUS, there's a Giveaway!
TORN (Book #2)
Summary:
Find Max. That’s all Layla cares about. Not healing from the Fomore attack. Not finding answers to how she survived a fall that nearly killed her. Nothing will stop her. She will find him. She’ll even pair up with an overbearing Fallen Angel who’s hell bent on making everything harder than it needs to be if she has to. Protect Layla. For Max, nothing else matters. Not the bruises covering his body. Not the pain radiating from his broken bones. Not even his hands tied behind his back. He will find a way to save Layla, and the Fomore will pay if they’ve hurt her. Every. Single. One of them. In the second installment of The Fire Born trilogy, a new breed of villain looms—one Layla and Max will never suspect, and this killer has nothing to lose. Better yet, with Max and Layla’s deaths, victory is in the grip of the enemy. Will Max and Layla find each other in time, or is it already too late for them both?

{New Release} "Lasting Summer" By Kailin Gow




Summer Jones thought she lost Nat Donovan, the boy she had always had a crush on since she could remember, when he went off on a mission to find his father, the founder and CEO of Donovan Dynamics, the billion dollar security and intelligence corporation who is now protecting her from the stalker who has attempted to kill her twice. 

He had always been her rock, had always been there for her, but now Nat has disappeared. According to Donovan Dynamics, it was for good. 

Could Summer continue on? Could Nat's playboy one-night stand legend brother Drew Donovan live up to Nat's legacy as the family's perfect son, as the one who could eventually run Donovan Dynamics? With Nat gone, could he finally get Summer to commit to him with all her heart and soul? 

All the secrets, all the heartaches, come out in Lasting Summer as the Donovans and Summer learn to deal with the truth about Nat, Drew, and Summer that will test each others' love to each other and to family. Lasting Summer is part of the Loving Summer Series appropriate for age 18+.

Friday, September 5, 2014

DNF Shorts

DNF Shorts is where I give short reviews on books that I just couldn't bring myself to finish reading. These are in no way to bash the books or their authors, but to just give my short opinion on them. If any of the books I include in my DNF Shorts are books you are interested in reading PLEASE continue to still buy/rent/borrow them and form your own opinions.

---

Summary:
What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart. 

Get ready to fall . . .



Short Review:
The main reason I did not finish this one is  because I listened to it in audiobook format instead of reading the actual book. I think I enjoyed the storyline, but I can't be sure because all I could focus on was how much I hated the readers voice. It was way too mature and older sounding for the MC and she sounds way too proper. I just could not get into it. I almost finished the audiobook (about 85% of the way through it), but I just couldn't listen to her anymore and I could tell that it was going to end in a pretty big cliffhanger/nothing was really going to be resolved by the ending. I really think I should eventually give this a try in book form to see if I get into more and enjoy it, but who knows. 

---

Summary:
The majority of Prosaic City’s residents don’t know that their town exists on top of another place -- Necropolis, City of the Undead. For the most part, the two planes of existence manage to remain separate. And when they don’t, Necropolis Enforcement has beings in place to ensure the general human population remains blithely clueless.

Victoria Wolfe is more than just a policewoman. She’s an undercover werewolf assigned by Necropolis Enforcement to work Prosaic City Police’s Night Beat. Victoria’s comfortable working the shift where all the weird comes out to play, especially since her partner is also her perfect man. Or would be, if Victoria could ever work up the nerve to tell him she isn't like other girls.

It’s hard enough being a werewolf in disguise, but when a creature from the Depths of Hell shows up in an alley preferred by junkies, bums, and hookers, it’s going to take more than just Victoria’s special gun and werewolf skills to subdue the ancient Sumerian demon. Especially when the demon is merely the start of what appears to be a major takeover attempt by the Prince of Darkness.

Soon all of Necropolis Enforcement’s Undead Brigade is involved in the fight to stop the Prince’s Major Minions from taking over Prosaic City and the rest of the human plane. But it’s Victoria who has to face the Adversary and figure out what intricate plan Lucifer has up his wings before everyone she cares about is destroyed.

In other words, it’s just another day on the Night Beat.


Short Review:
I really wanted to get into this book, but the writing style was too amateurish. You could tell that the author had absolutely no trust in the reader to figure things out for themselves or to remember small facts, because we were constantly reminded things (usually on the same page). I only got about 50 pages in before I had to call it quits. I just could not continue to read something that was so repetitive and really didn't have good character development or personality thus far. I almost felt like all the characters were the same person with the same personality. In the beginning I felt almost as if we jumped too far into the book, because there were a lot of things told to us of what the past was like, when we kind of needed to be in the "now". I really had high hopes for this book, but the writing just wasn't strong enough for me.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

BBReview: "Adam" By Ariel Schrag

Genre: Young Adult - Contemporary/LGTBQ
Publishing Date: June 10th, 2014
Page Count: 302
Source: Sent to me by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: Paperback

Description from Goodreads.com:
When Adam Freedman -- a skinny, awkward, inexperienced teenager from Piedmont, California -- goes to stay with his older sister Casey in New York City, he is hopeful that his life is about to change. And it sure does.

It is the Summer of 2006. Gay marriage and transgender rights
are in the air, and Casey has thrust herself into a wild lesbian
subculture. Soon Adam is tagging along to underground clubs, where there are hot older women everywhere he turns. It takes some time for him to realize that many in this new crowd assume he is trans -- a boy who was born a girl. Why else would this baby-faced guy always be around?

Then Adam meets Gillian, the girl of his dreams -- but she couldn't possibly be interested in him. Unless passing as a trans guy might actually work in his favor...

Ariel Schrag's scathingly funny and poignant debut novel puts a fresh spin on questions of love, attraction, self-definition, and what it takes to be at home in your own skin.

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

{Excerpt Wednesday} "The Prince's Ex" By Nadene Seiters


I absolutely love teasers and excerpts, because they ultimately sway me in whether or not I should buy the book. I love signing up for teaser and excerpt posts from publishing & PR companies, and I always read every except/teaser post that I see other bloggers posting. This made me come up with the idea for Excerpt Wednesday. Eventually every Wednesday I will spotlight one book by sharing an excerpt from it. Pretty soon I will have a signup form for authors to apply to be featured on an Excerpt Wednesday, and ultimately I would like to have a signup for fellow bloggers as well to sign up to be sent an HTML file to put on their blog in order to take part in the meme. 
Right now, though, I am testing the waters to see if this is something people would be interested in. So, bloggers comment if you would like to take part in the fun, and authors comment if you would love to be featured!

Now it is time to spotlight the book for my first Excerpt Wednesday...