Ad

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

BBReview: "The Selection 3: The One" By Kiera Cass

Genre: Young Adult: Dystopian Romance
Publishing Date: May 6th, 2014
Page Count: 323
Source: Borrowed from local library
Format: Hardcover

Description from Goodreads.com:
The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon's heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she'll have to fight for the future she wants.

Review:
I don't even know where to begin with this review. I can say that I really ended up loving this book and I was very worried I wouldn't since I didn't like how The Elite ended. I think the best part of this book was the drama. It was packed full of it and it had me addicted. So much death, drama, and love happen in this book. Everything felt unexpected and like anything could happen on the next page. I really liked that.

I feel like America finally gets her head out of her butt in this one. In The Elite I was so mad with her, because I felt pretty confident with how she felt after The Selection and then she just changes her mind in book two and leads everyone on. Even the guys changed in book 2. Both of their personalities switched and left me not knowing who I wanted her to be with anymore, but luckily everything finally sorts itself out in book 3.

It ended exactly how I wanted it to end and I am very happy with that. I will warn you that everything will crash and burn in the end. You think everything is great and then chaos ensues. You will speed read till the end and I promise you will end up liking how it all ends.

I am also extremely happy knowing that there will be at least 2 more books in the series. I thought it was all going to end here, but luckily Kiera Cass is coming out with another one this May and then one more that is still untitled sometime later. I would tell you what book 4 is called, but it will ruin the ending of book 3 for you. It is also told in someone else's point of view, which I am super stoked about, because it will really change what we see coming up. I can't wait for the change!

Overall:
I really really enjoyed this "conclusion". It was filled with drama and I never knew what to expect to happen on the next page. I am very happy with the way it ended as I feel like she picked the right guy. I cannot wait for the upcoming books in the series. I thought this was going to be it, but lucky for me there will be more in a whole new point of view!!

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 5/5


**The books cover, description, and info was all found on Goodreads. A link back has been provided. All other work and ideas are of my own creation. This book was borrowed from my local library.**

Top Ten Books I Read in 2014

There is no doubt that 2014 was a great year for the young adult book genre as there were at least 8 YA book-to-movie adaptations released this year alone (such as Divergent, If I Stay, and The Giver), and there are even more adaptations set to release this year like Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, The Duff by Kody Keplinger, and Paper Towns by John Green.

Due to this YA explosion I thought it would be nice to share some of my top favorite young adult books I read last year, and if you think you're too old to still be reading YA, think again. Publishers Weekly released a study in 2012 showing that even though the YA genre is geared towards children aged 12-17, 55% of YA book buyers are over the age of 18, with a large chunk of that number being 30-44 years old.

You might think that these are just adults buying books for their teens, but the study also showed that the buyers claimed that 78% of the time the purchases were for their own reading pleasure. If you are still convinced that YA is still too young for you, I also included some New Adult books (intended for college aged readers) on my list as well.

So far there has only been word of my number one pick being optioned for an upcoming film or TV series, but you never know what the future holds.

Here are my top ten young adult and new adult books I read in 2014.



10. "Blankets" By Craig Thompson
Blankets is a young adult graphic novel that explores sibling rivalry, young love, and self discovery. The artwork in this novel is breathtaking and plays a huge role in delivering the story, as the drawings are the main focus. Since there are very few written words in the story, due to it being a graphic novel, the artwork really needed to be spot on to make sure the reader got everything out of the story that the author intended. Luckily, Craig Thompson is both the author and illustrator, so the artwork is exactly on point. This novel is about 592 pages long, which may be intimidating to most, but it can easily be read in one day. This amazing story will help get your foot in the door of the graphic novel world.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

---


9. "Adam" By Ariel Schrag
Adam is truly an extraordinary young adult book. Adam Freedman is an awkward, inexperienced teenage boy who goes to New York to visit his older sister Casey, who happens to be a lesbian. The book takes place in 2006 where gay marriage and transgender rights are becoming a hot topic. In the story, Adam gets introduced to the underground lesbian clubs in New York and since Adam still looks very young, most of the people in the clubs think he is a transgendered guy. Because why else would a guy be in a lesbian club? The book then follows Adam's journey as he embraces the assumptions in order to get close to a girl he likes. This book is definitely out of the ordinary and does have some mature situations happening in it, but it is a perfect coming of age story. The writing style is funny, inviting, and never holds back. 


---

8. "REM" By Cheryl Abbott
REM is a young adult paranormal story about a girl named Bradalynn who has the ability to enter people's dreams without their knowledge. Bradalynn soon meets a boy she likes names Alexander, but his dreams are filled with nightmares. Now she must learn how to control her ability, figure out what is going on with Alexander, and try and understand her feelings for him. What made this such a great book is that Bradalynn is such an easy character to relate to. The tension is also done very well in this book which keeps you reading till the end. Oh, and beware, future readers, as there is a big cliffhanger ending.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

---


7. "Red Ridge Pack 3: Web of Lies" By Sara Dailey & Staci Weber
This is another young adult paranormal, but this series deals with werewolves. Since Web of Lies is the second to last book in the series, we won't go into specifics and give away spoilers, but we will comment on how great the series is. Each book in the series focuses on a new set of characters at different places in time. The best thing about this series is how invested and attached the reader becomes with the characters. The writing is very inviting and really draws the reader right into the characters lives as the chapters alternate between the points of view from both of the main characters. We will admit there are times when the series gets a little predictable, but overall it is fantastic!


---

6. "Ten Tiny Breaths 3: Four Seconds to Lose" By K.A. Tucker
Four Seconds to Lose is part of a new adult series called Ten Tiny Breaths, which is also the title of the first book in the series. Like the Red Ridge Pack series mentioned before, each book in the series follows a different set of characters at different points in time. This series is about less than perfect characters who have had rough lives that learn to cope and heal. We must warn you, once you start reading this series, you will become addicted. Four Seconds to Lose follows Cain and Charlie. Cain has always been a secondary character in the earlier books, but don't be fooled into thinking he isn't an important character with a great story, because you will be proven completely wrong.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

---


5. "Night Huntress 1: Halfway to the Grave" By Jeaniene Frost
Halfway to the Grave is a paranormal new adult about a girl named Cat who is half vampire/half human. The thing is, though, she hunts vampires. Cat was conceived after a vampire raped her mother and she is now determined to hunt down her father to seek revenge. This is a very fast paced book and is loaded with action. Cat puts herself into some pretty dangerous and crazy positions, but she always seems to come out on top. She is a great example of a female protagonist who has power and drive. 


---

4. "Georgina Kincaid 1: Succubus Blues" By Richelle Mead
This book is another new adult paranormal about a succubus. Although you may think this book should be intended for a more mature audience, the bulk of this book is not about sex, even though the main character is a demon who gets life force from sexual encounters. This is a great example of a book for those into young adult paranormal wanting to ease their way into new adult paranormal.




Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

---


3. "Ivy Granger 3: Burning Bright" By E.J. Stevens
The Ivy Granger series is a new adult fantasy that follows a woman named Ivy who is a psychic detective with the gift of seeing the past through the objects she touches. Ivy's clients aren't run of the mill human, though. She deals with other paranormal entities such as demons, the fae, and vampires. Ivy must help find out who the killer is that is murdering innocent paranormals. This series is so interesting because it allows the reader to discover so many more paranormals than they might have thought existed. It is a fast paced novel, but it still allows the reader to connect with Ivy and learn to care about her personal life.


---

2. "Pivot Point" By Kasie West
Pivot Point is an amazing, fast paced, and innovative young adult novel. Kasie West definitely has a huge, imaginative, and unique imagination, and the reader will easily pick up on that as early as chapter one. The book follows a girl named Addie who can look into the future and see both outcomes when faced with a choice. Addie's parents' get a divorce and face her with the decision of what parent she would like to live with. Addie uses her gift to visit alternate realities, but there really isn't a clear choice on which option is the best. Addie must decide whom from each future she can't live without. This book is so addicting, you will be up all hours of the night trying to finish it. You will not regret reading this one, unless you regret losing sleep of course.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

---


1. "Lux 5: Opposition" By Jennifer L. Armentrout
It shouldn't be surprising to young adult fans that the Lux series made it on to this list, especially at number one. For those of you who may not have heard about this series, it is about a girl named Katy who moves to West Virginia her senior year of high school and soon learns her neighbors aren't as normal as they first appear. They happen to be aliens called Luxen. The other problem is that the brother who lives next door, Daemon (who just so happens to be drop dead sexy!), but he also happens to be an arrogant jerk. Katy must learn to navigate her life without getting caught by the Arum (the Luxen's enemies) now that she knows their secret. This is an absolutely fantastic series! You may think there is no way aliens could be sexy, but just wait till you try this book. You will see them in a whole new light.






I hope you enjoyed my top ten reads for last year. For more information on any of the books make sure to check out the links located underneath each book. I'd love to hear if you've read any of these books so comment below with what you think/thought about them, or if you plan on picking one up!

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

BBReview: "We Were Liars" By E. Lockhart

Genre: Young Adult - Contemporary
Publishing Date: May 13th, 2014
Page Count: 227
Source: Personally bought from Audible
Format: Audiobook
Narrator: Ariadne Meyers

Description from Goodreads.com:
A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Review:
I absolutely loved listening to this book! At first I didn't think this book was for me. Privileged teens on their family's private island? Make it a TV show, of course i'll watch it, but a book? That is why I decided to go ahead and get the audiobook version. I have heard nothing but good reviews from everyone and I knew there had to be more to this book than what meets the eye. The high star reviews were right, there is definitely more to this book than I originally thought and I am so happy I listened to it.
We Were Liars is a character driven book, but it is packed with mystery and beautiful, over exaggerated pain from our main character. I mean over exaggerated in the best way possible. Cadence, our MC, is a privileged teen who is coming to realize what is wrong with her life and family. She is a Sinclair and that means something. "We are Sinclairs. No one is needy. No one is wrong" (Lockhart 1). So, it is fitting that when Cadence describes normal everyday pain, like heartbreak or loss, she uses over the top, dramatic details that make you actually worry about her safety, but she is fine. She is just a Sinclair.
One of my favorites is when Cadence says, "The bright red shame of being unloved soaked the grass in front of our house, the bricks of the path, the steps to the porch" (Lockhart 3). There is much more to this scene, but I don't want to spoil it for you. Just know it is one of my favorite scenes in the book, because of all the over exaggerated, heartbreaking details.
 I also loved that it is a suspenseful YA, because you are constantly trying to figure out what the secret is. Trying to fill in the pieces for yourself before your main character can and We Were Liars doesn't let you figure it out. You find out when Cadence does and it is shocking, heartbreaking, and so terribly good.
I really do think I enjoyed it so much, because of the audio. I absolutely loved Ariadne Meyer's voice and really believed that she was Cadence. The performance was authentic and true, and when the ending happens she doesn't hold back showing her own emotions for Cadence's benefit. I do wish that I had a physical copy or even a kindle copy so I could highlight all my favorite quotes, because this book was just filled with literary genius from E. Lockhart. The writing is beautiful and I couldn't have asked for more.

Overall:
I absolutely loved this book. I am so happy I finally decided to grab the audiobook version and listen to it on my way to school, because it had me addicted to listening. The story had me dropping my jaw, laughing, and sobbing. In the end my heart physically hurt and I even tweeted to E. Lockhart saying, "Just finished my audiobook of We Were Liars by @elockhart and needless to say my blood is slowly oozing out of me and puddling on the floor." Lockhart tweeted back thanking me, but I should be the one thanking her. We Were Liars was beautifully painful and beautifully tragic, filled with wonderful, over exaggerated details that I couldn't get enough of. I didn't think this book was for me, but I am so happy I gave it a shot because it was ridiculously good. I highly encourage you to give it a shot and check out the audiobook. I will definitely be re-reading some of my older Lockhart books and looking for more new ones, and I will definitely be looking into more books Ariadne Meyer's has narrated.

Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 5/5


**The books cover, description, and info was all found on Goodreads. A link back has been provided. All other work and ideas are of my own creation. This book was bought from audible.com using monthly membership credits.**

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Top Ten 2014 New Releases I Meant To Read, But Didn't Get To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there will be a new topic for everyone to create a top ten list with. 

This Weeks Topic:
Top Ten 2014 New Releases I Meant To Read, But Didn't Get To

 
 

10."A Little Something Different" By Sandy Hall
9. "Get Even" By Gretchen McNeil
8. "Sinner" By Maggie Stiefvater
7. "Black Ice" By Becca Fitzpatrick
6. "Ghost House" By Alexandra Adornetto
5. "The Jewel" By Amy Ewing
4. "Vampires of Manhattan" By Melissa De La Cruz
3. "White Hot Kiss" By Jennifer L. Armentrout
2. "Split Second" By Kasie West
1. "Wicked" By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Friday, January 9, 2015

{Cover Reveal} "The Hidden Library" By Heather Lyons

Heather Lyons is known for writing epic, heartfelt love stories often with a fantastical twist. From Young Adult to New Adult to Adult novels --one commonality in all her books is the touching, and sometimes heart wrenching, romance. And this book is absolutely no different! 
The Collectors’ Society’s adventures continue in ways you would have never imagined! Join them as you step into this adult fairytale with some of your favorite characters set to be released February 26th!! 
Heather worked with Victoria Faye from Whit and Ware for the design of this fabulous cover and we are so delighted to share it with you!!

Without further ado we give you the amazing cover for THE HIDDEN LIBRARY!!

ABOUT THE HIDDEN LIBRARY: 
  Sometimes, the rabbit hole is deeper than expected . . . Alice Reeve and Finn Van Brunt have tumbled into a life of secrets. Some secrets they share, such as their employment by the clandestine organization known as The Collectors’ Society. Other secrets they carry within them, fighting to keep buried the things that could change everything they think they know. On the hunt for an elusive villain who is hell-bent on destroying legacies, Alice, Finn, and the rest of the Society are desperate to unravel the mysteries surrounding them. But the farther they spiral down this rabbit hole, the deeper they fall into secrets that will test their loyalties and pit them against enemies both new and old. Secrets, they come to find, can reveal the deadliest of truths. 

My Bout of Books Read-A-Thon Progress Thus Far

Bout of Books

I don't know why, but I haven't been posting my daily progress in the Read-A-Thon thus far. I think the whole "getting rid of goals" thing threw me off my game lol.

Anyways, I decided to just compile it all right here, right now, and in case I continue to forget to post my progress I am also going to tell you (right here, right now) what my goal is for the rest of the Read-A-Thon.

Number of Books I've Read So Far: 3
Number of Pages I've Read So Far: 351
Book's I've Read: {Finished} "We Were Liars" By E. Lockhart and {Started} "The One" By Kiera Cass, {Started} "Yes, Please" By Amy Poehler

For the rest of the week, I plan on finishing "The One" By Kiera Cass, hopefully listen to some more of Amy Poehler's "Yes, Please" (because it's hilarious!), and try and finish reading "Hunting in Bruges" By E.J. Stevens

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

WHERE HAVE I BEEN!?!

Hello my lovely readers!

I just wanted to send out a small apology post for my recent absence on the blog. I have had posts here and there, but they have been mostly PR on books for you all to check out while I'm busy lol. I just wanted to update you all on what's going on so you're not super mad that I haven't been posting reviews. As you all know, I am a Senior at a University which means during the semesters I am very busy. Last semester was a lot busier than ever before so I didn't have any time at all to read. I thought I would get some reading done on my winter break, but I actually did manuscript reading for my internship at Spencer Hill Press and I can't review those to you, so I'm sorry lol.

My winter semester has just started this week and it is my last semester until I graduate! I AM TERRIFIED! I mean I am definitely extremely excited and can't wait for all my hard work to pay off, but at the same time I need to find an adult job lol. So, needless to say I might be extremely busy again this semester, but everything will go back to normal after April.

I am still planning on doing a whole new re-launch for the blog (hopefully sometime in May) and I will definitely be posting tons and tons of reviews. I will try my hardest to get some books read this semester, though. I have some Audiobooks I bought that I am going to try and listen to on the way to school, and then review, so hopefully that plan works out swimmingly.

Again, I am so sorry for my absence on the blog, but know that I love you all and that I just have to get some bigger things out of the way (graduating), before throwing myself back into books lol.

Keep Reading!!

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

{New Release} "The Redeemable Prince" By Rachel Higginson


Today I am so excited to bring you info on Rachel Higginson's newest book in The Star-Crossed Series, THE REDEEMABLE PRINCE! If you haven't started this series yet the first book, RECKLESS MAGIC is currently FREE in e-book format. For more info and buy links for both books keep reading!

Synopsis:
Seraphina Van Curen and Sebastian Cartier thought they were soul mates once upon a time. But for over a year, they have been well aware of just how quickly love can turn to hate and how cruel fate can be.

They might not be able to stand the sight of each other, but that’s okay since they avoid each other like the plague.

When danger strikes too close to home, and ancient Magic surfaces, they find themselves in the center of a deadly war. Seraphina and Sebastian strike an uneasy truce in order to end Dmitri Terletov, once and for all. They must work together to save what’s left of the Kingdom and protect the people they love most.

Along the way, they discover fate isn’t finished with them yet.


Fate is just getting started.

Monday, December 15, 2014

YA Paranormal FREE on Amazon!

Hello, my lovely readers! 

I just got an email that Brina Courtney's YA Paranormal, REVEAL is FREE on Amazon right now. 

Keep reading for the cover, synopsis and buy link =D

---

Synopsis:
You think seeing ghosts is weird? Tell me something I don't know.

My childhood best friend Jeremy, happens to be a ghost.

Besides that, my life is totally normal. Well except that my dad went missing when I was six. But my mom makes it work. And I have annoying brother. See, normal?
So why does my life feel like a train wreck waiting to happen... oh yeah because now Jeremy is also missing.
Fate intervenes when Hugh, with his stunning golden eyes and similar dark hair, starts taking an interest in me. He divulges that he also shares my little "gift" of seeing the dead. Should I be freaked out? Yes. But am I? Okay, but only a little bit.

Senior year is hard enough as it is, but clearly I like a challenge.

I'm Participating in Bout of Books 12! Are you?

Bout of Books

Yay! It is time for another bout of books read-a-thon! I absolutely love participating in these. It is my favorite read-a-thon and I always get some good and much needed reading done. 
Haven't heard of Bout of Books before? Here's some info...

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

Are you planning on participating? Let me know in the comments!