Ad

Thursday, November 27, 2014

{Hunting in Bruges Week} Hunting in Bruges Playlist

I asked author E.J. Stevens what songs best represent the characters and story of her new Urban Fantasy novel, Hunting in Bruges. This is what she had to say.


Hey everyone! I am so excited about the upcoming release of Hunting in Bruges, the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series. This book is filled with quirky characters, bloodthirsty paranormal predators, and high octane fight scenes. So, just a warning, some of this music is pretty intense.

---

Hunting in Bruges Playlist

The Razor's Edge by Digital Daggers
Trophy by Bat for Lashes
Heartbeats by The Knife
Vanished by Crystal Castles
Heads Will Roll by Yeah Yeah Yeahs
When Anger Shows by The Editors
Walking with a Ghost by Tegan and Sara
How by The Neighborhood
Bones by Ms Mr
The Dreaming Moon by The Magnetic Fields
Arsenal by Kidneythieves
Leaving Tonight by The Birthday Massacre
What Else Is There? by Royksopp
Scorch the Ground by Seabound
Approaching Light Speed by Wolfsheim
Dead Stars by Covenant
The Bomb by Neuroticfish
Let Me Be Your Armor by Assemblage 23
Bullet by Covenant
Ghost by VNV Nation
Wreath of Barbs by Wumpscut

What songs are on your Hunting in Bruges playlist?

{Excerpt Wednesday} "Hunting in Bruges" By E.J. Stevens

Excerpt Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Book Bite Reviews that showcases excerpts from books every Wednesday. 
If you are interested in getting your book featured, or would like to sign up to participate in Excerpt Wednesday's on your own blog, click the Excerpt Wednesday button above, or find the link at the end of the post!

---

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

{Hunting in Bruges Week} Top Ten Spooky Places in Bruges

This week on Book Bite Reviews is "Hunting in Bruges" Week!

Hunting in Bruges, the first novel in the Hunters' Guild series, is set in Bruges, Belgium and author E.J. Stevens is taking us on a spooky trip to Bruges' Top 10 Spooky Places.  Let's see what terrifying places E.J. has planned for our tour.

---

Top 10 Spooky Places in Bruges

The charming medieval city of Bruges, Belgium may seem like an unusual setting for an urban fantasy novel.  The city is known for its tranquil canals, historic buildings, and romantic vistas.  But the moment I saw a picture of Bruges, my mind began populating its cobblestone streets with bloodthirsty vampires, flesh eating ghouls, monstrous fae, and wailing ghosts.

Imagine my surprise when I discovered that there really was something sinister in the city's bloody history.  My research into Bruges began in earnest, and last year I completed my book research with a trip to Belgium.  The pictures included with this post are from that research trip.  These photos are taken during daylight hours, but I can assure you that the atmosphere becomes decidedly spooky when the sun goes down over West Flanders.  Do ghosts walk the streets of Bruges?  I will let you decide.

---

The Canals
The canals play an important part in my novel, Hunting in Bruges.  Jenna Lehane, a Hunter with a troubled past, arrives in Bruges to discover that something is killing humans and disposing of their bodies in the canals.  Not only are the canals filling with corpses, but there are supernatural horrors that call the canals their home.  While I was visiting Bruges, the canals were the watery grave for more than one unfortunate creature.  Did these ducks, pigeons, and small mammals die from natural causes, or is there something deadly lurking within these dark waters?

---

Jerusalem Church (Jeruzalemkerk)
I have to admit that I was completely unprepared for the experience I had within the stone walls of Jerusalem Church.  The macabre altarpiece and tomb were ghoulish, but the truly terrifying part of this church lay in a crawlspace in the vaulted chapel in the back.  A cloth wrapped body is on display, and though I've read that this is a replica of Christ's tomb, there is something chilling about that small chamber.  My travel companion bolted out the door...and I wasn't far behind.  (Note: No pictures came out of the rear tomb.  The photos were completely black.) 

---

Beguinage (Begijnhof)
Beguines were lay sisters who lived and dressed as nuns, but did not take vows.  The Beguinage continues to be a place of silence within the bustling city--a silence that can seem downright eerie.  During my trip, the courtyard was filled with a field of wilting daffodils.  Beauty with an edge of decay seemed to be the common theme of this place.  One house has been preserved in its original rustic state and visitors can wander the maze of tiny rooms filled with antique furniture and aging lace to see the way in which the Beguines lived.  I swear that someone, or something, was watching me during my entire visit.  With every creak of the old wooden floors, my unease grew and I made a hasty retreat to Minnewater Park.

---

Basilica of the Holy Blood (Heilig-Bloedbasiliek)
12th century basilica located on Burg square in the heart of Bruges.  The church houses the relic of the Holy Blood.  The Holy Blood is venerated daily, and is paraded through the streets of Bruges during the Procession of the Holy Blood on Ascension Day.

---

Saint John's Hospital (Sint-Janshospitaal)
This place is not for the faint of heart.  The 11th century hospital is one of the oldest in Europe and contains the often grotesque artwork of Hans Memling, as well as many antique surgical implements.  The artwork and objects of torture are absolutely horrifying and the depictions of nuns in their traditional garb had me jumping at my shadow. 

---

Another five notable places to add to any ghost tour of Bruges are the Spookhuis, Retsin's Lucifernum, Belfort, Blind Donkey Alley, and a viewing of Heironymous Bosch's haunting triptych The Last Judgement at the Groeningemuseum.

---

To learn more about E.J. Stevens and her books, connect through Goodreads, Twitter, and sign-up for her newsletter.  There is an interesting article about Hunting in Bruges in the Belgian newspaper Het Nieuwsblad.  Hunting in Bruges releases November 11th and is available for pre-order on Amazon.  You can add the Hunters' Guild series here on Goodreads.




Readers, was this your first visit to Bruges, Belgium?  Have you experienced anything supernatural in and around Bruges?

What did you think of E.J. Stevens' picks for spooky places?

Saturday, November 22, 2014

{Spotlight} "The Last Glass" By T.M. Lazar


Synopsis:
Tori Knight moves to a small New York town where things aren't always what they seem. Though reluctant to leave her old life behind, she meets new friends, and falls for a guy.

Crispin DeMortimer is the most popular boy at Grimmsburg High. He had a summer fling with Natalia, the rich doctor's daughter, and also heir to a secret society. However, when he sees Tori for the first time, he feels an instant connection with her, one he has never felt before. Lucky for him, Tori feels the same. 

It's the start of a new chapter, for both Tori and Crispin, and Grimmsburg, NY is where untold secrets will be revealed, and challenges beyond anyone's imagination will be brought forth. Will the secrets of Grimmsburg bring Tori and Crispin together, or will these life changing secrets be too much for them both?

Saturday, November 15, 2014

{Cover Reveal} "Becoming Rain" By K.A. Tucker

I am so stoked about this cover reveal for K.A. Tucker's BECOMING RAIN! BECOMING RAIN is a New Adult Romantic Suspense novel, and the second novel in K.A. Tucker’s Burying Water Series, published by Atria Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster. BECOMING RAIN is set to be released March 3, 2015!
  Becoming Rain
  About BECOMING RAIN: 
 Luke Boone doesn't know exactly what his uncle Rust is involved in but he wants in on it-the cars, the money, the women. And it looks like he's finally getting his wish. When Rust hands him the managerial keys to the garage, they come with a second set-one that opens up the door to tons of cash and opportunity. Though it's not exactly legal, Luke's never been one to worry about that sort of thing. Especially when it puts him behind the wheel of a Porsche 911 and onto the radar of gorgeous socialite named Rain. Clara Bertelli is at the top of her game-at only twenty-six years old, she's one of the most successful undercover officers in the Washington D.C. major crime unit, and she's just been handed a case that could catapult her career and expose one of the west coast's most notorious car theft rings. But, in order to do it, she'll need to go deep undercover as Rain Martines. Her target? The twenty-four-year old nephew of a key player who appears ready to follow in his uncle's footsteps. As Clara drifts deeper into the luxurious lifestyle of Rain, and further into the arms of her very attractive and charming target, the lines between right and wrong start to blur, making her wonder if she'll be able to leave it all behind. Or if she'll even want to.  

US BUY LINKS:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-a-Million | IndieBound | Apple | Blio

Friday, November 14, 2014

{Blogger Book Fair} "Cruel" By Ashley R. Carlson

Cruel (Short Story)
Dystopian | New Adult
Synopsis:
The day every child on Earth disappeared, Aveline and her family were thrown into a hellish existence that the world should've seen coming. The adult population was never given a choice: most men were possessed by the demon spirits of Cruels with women becoming their prisoners. Now Aveline's mother is sick with fever, her older sister's gone missing, and she has to sneak into the Cruel-infested city of Yearn to try and save them. When she catches the eye of a sadistic and reckless Cruel leader however, Aveline must use every ounce of strength and wit she has to escape his brutality, ultimately being faced with the toughest question of all: how far is she willing to go for humanity, even if it means dying to see it restored?

---

Buy Links:
 FREE when you sign up for my Newsletter.

Thursday, November 13, 2014

{Blogger Book Fair} "The Medium" By M.R. Graham

The Medium (The Books of Lost Knowledge)
Supernatural/Paranormal | Adult
Synopsis:
Lenny is good at teaching physics. He is good at fixing things, making friends, and not attracting attention. He is good at being a medium, helping spirits pass beyond the Veil. But as a vampire incapable of violence, he has always been a bit of a joke.

All it takes is a drink in a hotel bar, a stumble into the wrong place at the wrong time, to run him afoul of Sebastian Duran, a lunatic who controls other people’s minds better than he can control his own. Torn away from everything he knows, trapped and starved and under constant mental assault, Lenny’s best hope is Kim Reed, a wizard tasked with bringing down Duran. Kim cannot believe that Lenny is evil, but neither can she hide him, and while she battles for his freedom, Lenny is forced to confront his own potential for monstrosity.

---

Buy Links:

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

{Excerpt Wednesday} "Amazon Burning" By Victoria Griffith

Excerpt Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Book Bite Reviews that showcases excerpts from books every Wednesday. 
If you are interested in getting your book featured, or would like to sign up to participate in Excerpt Wednesday's on your own blog, click the Excerpt Wednesday button above, or find the link at the end of the post!

---

{Blogger Book Fair} "Nightblade" By Garrett Robinson

Nightblade
Fantasy | New Adult
Synopsis:
Everyone begins their life dreaming of the great person they could become, only to have those hopes battered and broken by the world around them. The world tells them they’re not special. Family convinces them to abandon their goals for the safe route, the sure route.

Loren has been born to cruel parents and raised in an obscure village. She’s long resigned herself to an unremarkable life under the sway of a father who beats her and a mother who sees her only as means to a dowry. Loren’s dreams have almost burnt out—until fate rekindles their spark into a flame that will consume the world.

SOMETIMES ALL WE NEED IS A PUSH.

When Loren meets the fugitive wizard Xain, she dares to hope again. Escaping her village, she finds the nine kingdoms more complicated and dangerous than she could have imagined. But at long last, she’s ready to face the challenge or die in the attempt.

Loren has reclaimed her dreams—this time for good. Armed with only her wit and her courage, she will do anything to become the woman she’s always wanted to be: Nightblade, the most renowned thief in all the land.

---

Buy Links:
Only $.99!

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

{New Release} "Hunting in Bruges" By E.J. Stevens

Today is the release of HUNTING IN BRUGES, the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series by E.J. Stevens.  To celebrate, we are having a book and swag giveaway!

Keep reading for a chance to win a Hunting in Bruges signed book, t-shirt, and more!


Hunting in Bruges (Hunters' Guild #1) by E.J. Stevens.

The only thing worse than being a Hunter in the fae-ridden city of Harborsmouth, is hunting vamps in Bruges.

Being shipped off to Belgium sucks. The medieval city of Bruges is quaint, but the local Hunters' Guild is understaffed, the canals are choked with dead bodies, and there's no shortage of supernatural predators as likely suspects.

On second thought, maybe Bruges isn't so bad after all.

With a desire to prove herself, protect the innocent, and advance within the ranks of the Hunters' Guild, Jenna Lehane hits the cobbled streets of Bruges with blades at the ready. Someone, or something, is murdering tourists and dumping their bodies in the city's scenic canals.  With the help of a mysterious stranger, Jenna begins to piece together clues that are dotted throughout the city like blood spatter.

Determined to stop the killings, Jenna delves into a bloody local history that only raises more questions--but some secrets are best left buried. Jenna must put her combat training to the test as she struggles to unearth the truth about an ancient enemy.

Hunting in Bruges is the first novel in the Hunters' Guild urban fantasy series set in the world of Ivy Granger.

Release Date:  November 11, 2014
Genre:  Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Add to Goodreads.
Buy on Amazon.